Google Custom Search


NEW ORLEANS – Alabama State secured its third-straight Southwestern Athletic Conference Women's Tennis championship, defeating Alcorn State 4-0 in the 2019 finals Sunday morning at City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center.alst swac wtn19 champsAlabama State University
2019 SWAC Women's Tennis Champions

The Lady Hornets took control early as Gabriela Lackova and Lea Krajcovicova defeated Alcorn State’s Klavdija Bukovec and Veronika Pytlikova for the first win of the day, 6-3. All-Tournament player Maria Popova teamed with Chloe Kabamba to clinch the doubles point with a 6-3 win over the Lady Braves tandem of Stefany Grlj and Ammaarah Tim.

From there, Alabama State cruised, as Lackova defeated Ammaarah Tim in straight sets during singles action, and all-tournament performers Reka Szentes and Urska Velec wrapped up the championship with singles wins at the No. 1 and No. 5 slots, respectively.

Popova was named Tournament Most Valuable Player for her efforts during the weekend, highlighted by a dramatic three-set win in comeback fashion during the semifinals that propelled Alabama State to the finals.

Alabama State’s Anuk Christiansz was named Coach of the Year.

Match Results

Alabama State 4, Alcorn State 0 (ASU wins championship)
No. 1 Singles: Reka Szentes (ASU) def. Stefany Grlj (ALCN) 6-2, 6-1
No. 2 Singles: Maria Popova (ASU) vs. Anastasia Vaganova (ALCN), unfinished
No. 3 Singles: Lea Krajcovicova (ASU) vs. Bianca Birkenstock (ALCN) unfinished
No. 4 Singles: Gabriela Lackova (ASU) def. Ammaarah Tim (ALCN) 6-2, 6-0
No. 5 Singles: Urska Velec (ASU) def. Klavdija Bukovec (ALCN) 6-0, 6-4
No. 6 Singles: Chloe Kabama (ASU) vs. Veronika Pytlikova (ALCN), unfinished

No. 1 Doubles: Maria Popova/Chloe Kabamba (ASU) def. Stefany Grlj/Ammaarah Tim (ALCN) 6-3
No. 2 Doubles: Reka Szentes/Urska Velec (ASU) vs. Anastasia Vaganova/Bianca Birkenstock (ALCN), unfinished
No. 3 Doubles: Gabriela Lackova/Chloe Kabamba def. Klavdija Bukovec/Veronika Pytlikova (ALCN) 6-2

All-Tournament Team
Ariel Dickson, Jackson State
Stefany Grli, Alcorn State
Anastasia Vaganova, Alcorn State
Reka Szentes, Alabama State
Urska Velec, Alabama State
Maria Popova, Alabama State (Tournament MVP)


NEW ORLEANS – Alabama State completed the three-peat sweep as the Hornets defeated in-state rival Alabama A&M for the 2019 Southwestern Athletic Conference Men’s Tennis Tournament championship 4-1 Sunday afternoon at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center.

This is the third-straight title for the Hornets, who had to rebound from a doubles point loss to take the championship.alst swac mtn19 champAlabama State University
2019 SWAC Men's Tennis Champions

After Alabama A&M’s Hsiang Yi Wang and Cheng Chang clinched the early point for the Bulldogs – Christian Bigott and Rodrigo Rios earned the first doubles win – the Hornets took control in singles competition. Tournament Most Valuable Player Ion Efrim tied the match with a 6-1, 6-0 win over Wang, and from there, the defending champions cruised as Alexis Collard, Tomas Fernandez and Alejo Calvis wrapped up the title with singles wins.

Anuk Christiansz was named Coach of the Year. Along with Efrim, the Hornets had three additional all-tournament honorees: Fernandez, Calvis and Juan Rodriguez.

Match Results

Alabama State 4, Alabama A&M 1 (ASU wins championship)
No. 1 Doubles: Hsiang Yi Wang/Cheng Chang (AAMU) def. Ion Efrim/Alexis Collard (ASU) 6-3
No. 2 Doubles: Juan Rodriguez/Chris Andre (ASU) vs. Nishangan Nadaraja/Shakir Elvin (AAMU), unfinished
No. 3 Doubles: Cristian Bigott/Rodrigo Arana Rios (AAMU) def. Tomas Fernandez/Carl-Louis Luckmann (ASU), 6-3

No. 1 Singles: Ion Efrim (ASU) def. Hsiang Yi Wang (AAMU) 6-1, 6-0
No. 2 Singles: Chris Andre (ASU) vs. Nishangan Nadaraja (AAMU), unfinished
No. 3 Singles: Alexis Collard (ASU) def. Fermin Ruiz (AAMU) 6-1, 6-3
No. 4 Singles: Tomas Fernandez (ASU) def. Rodrigo Arana Rios (AAMU) 6-2, 6-2
No. 5 Singles: Juan Rodriguez (ASU) vs. Shakir Elvin (AAMU), unfinished
No. 6 Singles: Alejo Calvis (ASU) def. Cheng Chang (AAMU) 6-4, 6-2

All-Tournament Team
Ion Efrim, Alabama State (Tournament MVP)
Alejo Calvis, Alabama State
Juan Rodriguez, Alabama State
Tomas Fernandez, Alabama State
Nishangan Nadaraja, Alabama A&M
Shakir Elvin, Alabama A&M



Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square