Google Custom Search

(Pittsburgh, PA) – Grambling State University has captured the 2016 SBN Sports Black College Football National Championship. The Tigers posted an 10-1 record on the way to winning the SBN Sports Jake Gaither National Championship Trophy for the first time since 2008.sbn sports

In the final 2016 SBN Poll, Grambling State was number one, followed by North Carolina Central, North Carolina A&T, Tennessee State, Southern University, Prairie View A&M, Tuskegee, Winston-Salem State, Virginia State and Bowie State. Head Coach Broderick Fobbs and his Tigers won the Southwestern Athletic Conference title and represented the SWAC in the Celebration Bowl where they defeated Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Champ North Carolina Central 10-9. Grambling has now won 15 Black College National Championships and Fobbs won his first since taking over the program three years ago.

SBN's 2016 Black College National Championship Team, the “2016 SBN Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year”, the “2016 SBN Sports Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year” and the “2016 SBN Sports Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” will be recognized during enshrinement ceremonies for the Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017. The event will take place February 27, 2017, at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.


Please consider supporting our work.

The pandemic has financial consequences, especially for Black-owned businesses. Ad revenue is shrinking so we are asking you directly for your financial support. You can use the Cash App and contribute to $onnidan or process your donation through Square